Skip to main content

Main menu and utilities

Design and Architecture Norway

Innovation Award

Hvert tredje år

Innovasjonsprisen for inkluderende design deles ut hvert tredje år. I 2023 ble prisen delt ut for femte gang.

Mangfold av mennesker

Prisen fremhever innovative, inkluderende og brukervennlige løsninger som begeistrer og kan tas i bruk av et mangfold av mennesker.


Prisen hedrer produkter, tjenester, grafisk design, digitale løsninger og bygde omgivelser som bidrar til sosial, miljømessig og verdiskapende bærekraft.

Privat og offentlig

Prisen kan tildeles  både virksomheter, designere og arkitekter inkludert studenter og nyutdannede innen design og arkitektur. 

Part of government universal design efforts

The award has been presented since 2011 on behalf of the Ministry of Children and Equality (BLD), which coordinates government universal design efforts. The award aims to put the spotlight on innovative, low-threshold and user-friendly solutions.

“Universal design means the design of products, environments, programmes and services to be usable by all people, to the greatest extent possible, without the need for adaptation or specialized design.”

This is the definition established by the UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities.

What types of solutions are considered?

The award honours the innovative use of universal design according to a broad definition of architecture and design. This encompasses all types of solutions, such as buildings, outdoor spaces, landscapes, transport, interior design, products, visual communication, service design, ICT and digital platforms. The award has a total of eight categories.

Who can receive the award?

The award is presented to companies, designers and architects in both the public and private sectors. To be nominated for the award, a number of criteria for universal design must be met. These criteria include all aspects of universal design, with a focus on user-driven innovation, form, aesthetics and functionality. The solution must also already be in use and launched in the market.

How are the applications assessed?

The independent jury comprised of active designers, architects and experts from a variety of organisations and institutions with expertise in the broad spectrum of categories and universal design will assess all qualified projects and select one winner in each category. Among these, one final winner will be announced during a separate event with a prize award ceremony and presentation of all winning projects.

Do you have questions?

Contact us by phone or e-mail.