Main menu and utilities

Design and Architecture Norway

Stimulation Programme for Innovation and Service Design

In formulating the stimulation programme, Difi (Agency for Public Management and eGovernment) and DOGA took their starting point from the Double Diamond, a process model created by the British Design Council in 2005. The model is a visual representation of the design process and consists of four general steps: Discover, Define, Develop and Deliver. Each diamond contains two steps and shows how the design process opens up new ideas before refining and narrowing down to the best idea.

The projects funded by the stimulation programme address complicated challenges. To pave the way for innovation, we have supplemented the model with a diagnostic phase at the start. We have done this because public tendering procedures are usually perceived as demanding a definition of the solution, an assumption that inhibits innovation projects. 

Pinpointing the causes

By introducing the Triple Diamond, we aim to better set the stage for suppliers, who have multidisciplinary competencies, to participate in the earliest phase. During this phase, the emphasis is on shifting the focus from symptoms and assumptions to understanding and revealing the fundamental and underlying causes of the challenge. This approach makes it possible to identify potential for improvements and innovation, followed by the selection of an appropriate method to achieve the desired result.

You can read more about this in the blog entry La oss spørre hvor det gjør vondt før vi skriver ut resepter (Let’s ask where it hurts before writing the prescription).

Do you have questions?

Contact us by phone or e-mail.